Safety is Our Priority

This strongly held belief is deeply embedded in Slayden’s team culture. Our respective records, with hundreds of thousands of hours worked routinely without incident, reflect our commitment to making safety our number one priority.

Everyone is accountable for safety. From new hires to our Executive Board members, we strive to achieve our daily goal of zero incidents. Our continual commitment is to identify unsafe work practices and conditions, especially unsafe equipment, to perform work in the safest manner possible and consistent with first-class design and construction practices. Safety of the general public, the environment, our employees, and other personnel on or near the work site will always be our team’s top priority.

Slayden’s level of commitment has been recognized through multiple local and national level AGC awards, and by OR-OSHA, when the company graduated from the five-year SHARP program in 2013. Slayden’s Safety Program continually exceeds the requirements of both state and federal law.

Safety Awards

AGC Outstanding Program Award


The Outstanding Program Award recipient is selected from the first place award winners represented in each division and category. This award represents the “Best of the Best” for the Recognition of Safety Excellence awards program.

AGC Recognition of Safety Excellence (ROSE)

2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2010 & 2009

The Oregon-Columbia Chapter’s Recognition of Safety Excellence (ROSE) Award recognizes chapter leaders in safety excellence, provides an excellent way to document your achievements in safety, and offers an opportunity to receive well-deserved recognition from your peers in the industry. It is also a great tool to conduct a self-evaluation of your safety programs. ROSE Awards are presented at the chapter’s  annual business meeting each January. The ROSE award is the first step to participating in the CSEA competition.

AGC Safety Program Recognition Indicating Dedication & Excellence (PRIDE)

2017, 2016, 2015 & 2014

The AGC Safety Program Recognition Indicating Dedication & Excellence (PRIDE) is a state-wide voluntary recognition program offered for contractor members of the Oregon-Columbia Chapter. Safety PRIDE recipients are members who demonstrate safety excellence in our industry. This program is recognized by OR-OSHA under Program Directive A-264.

Construction Safety Excellence Award (CSEA)

2014, 2013, 2011, 2010 & 2009

The AGC of America Construction Safety Excellence Award (CSEA) is an ongoing and evolving effort by AGC of America to recognize companies who have developed and implemented excellent safety and loss prevention programs achieved through management commitment, employee involvement, and program innovation. The CSEA Award is considered the most prestigious Safety Award in the Construction Industry.